top of page

Prof. Tharmalingam Punniyamurthy

Department of Chemistry, IIT Guwahati





Tharmalingam Punniyamurthy

Department of Chemistry

Indian Institute of Technology Guwahati






Ph.D.   Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur (Prof. J. Iqbal)

M.Phil.   Bharathidasan University, Tiruchirapalli

M.Sc.   Bharathidasan University, Tiruchirapalli

Professional Experience 

2024-                                 Editorial Advisory Board                   Tetrahedron and Tetrahedron Letters


2023-                                 SEC, WISE-PDF                                  Department of Science and Technology 

2023-                                 Jt. Secretary                                        Chemical Research Society of India


2023-                                 Associate Editor                                  SynOpen


2022-                                 Sectional Committee                          Indian Academy of Sciences                                                                                                   

2021-2023                        Chief Vigilance Officer                         IIT Guwahati

2020-2023                        Board of Governors                             IIIT Guwahati

2020-2023                        Dean of Faculty Affairs                         IIT Guwahati


2020                                 Visiting Professor                                  National Institute of Pharmaceutical Research Guwahati

2020-2022                        Advisory Board                                     SynOpen


2019-                                Council                                                  National Organic Symposium Trust


2019-2021                        PAC-OC                                                 Science and Engineering Research Board


2017-2023                        Council                                                  Chemical Research Society of India


2017-2020                        Head, Department of Chemistry         IIT Guwahati


2016-2023                        SEC, WOS-A                                          Department of Science and Technology


2015                                 HAG Professor                                       IIT Guwahati


2013 (Jan-July)                Visiting Professor                                   The Scripps Research Institute, San Diego 


2011 (May-June)             Visiting Professor                                    Kyushu University 


2009-12                           Chairman, Library Committee               IIT Guwahati


2009-12                           Convener, IPRM                                      IIT Guwahati


2008                                 Professor                                                 IIT Guwahati


2007 (April-Dec)              Visiting Professor                                   Oxford University 


2005 -08                          Associate Professor                                 IIT Guwahati


2005                                Chairman, JAM                                        IIT Guwahati


2001-05                           Assistant Professor                                  IIT Guwahati


2000-01                          CNRS Researcher                                     National School of Chemistry Montpellier 


1997-99                          JSPS Researcher                                       Kyushu University 


1995-96                          Postdoctoral Fellow                                 North Dakota State University 


2023                              J C Bose Fellowship

2023                              CRSI Silver Medal

2022                              Fellow, Indian National Science Academy

2019                              Margadarshak, Assam Engineering College


2018                              Fellow, The National Academy of Sciences


2017                              Distinguished Alumni Award, Bharathidasan University


2016                              Fellow, Indian Academy of Sciences


2015                              CRSI Bronze Medal


2014                              Fellow, Royal Society of Chemistry


2013                              OLF, Fulbright


2012                              Fulbright-Nehru Senior Research Fellowship


2011                              JSPS Invitation Fellowship (Short Term)


2010                              JSPS Bridge Fellowship


2007                              UKIERI Research Fellowship


2006                              IUPAC Young Scientist


2000-01                        CNRS Research Fellowship


1997-99                        JSPS Postdoctoral Fellowship


1995-96                        Postdoctoral Fellowship, North Dakota State University

bottom of page